We believe it’s the little ideas, local organisations and small acts that can help make a big difference in people’s lives and help build a richer Tasmanian community.

Mission, Vision & Purpose

Mission: Provide young Tasmanians with greater opportunities;

Vision: To make a genuine difference to young Tasmanians; and

Purpose: To help young Tasmanians reach their full potential.

Our Story

We help young people access opportunities they might not otherwise have access to by supporting a range of charitable programs and activities. This is done annually through the MyState Foundation grants program.

The MyState Foundation grants program supports not-for-profit organisations that work towards empowering the youth of Tasmania. Each year, we grant between $1,000 and $10,000 to eligible organisations; and to date, we have awarded over $2 million in grants to more than 120 not-for-profit organisations, for nearly 300 initiatives. These are a rich, diverse group of organisations and charities that are engaged in education or development projects for young people. They may provide opportunity for further education; increase financial literacy or assist young people living with a disability to access special education, care and support. Previous grant recipients include Devonfield Enterprises, Colony 47, Geeveston Community Centre, Beacon Foundation, Hobart PCYC, Camp Clayton, Oak Enterprises, Uniting Care Tasmania and Molenda Lodge.

Our Board

The MyState Community Foundation Limited (Foundation) Board comprises five non-executive Directors. In accordance with the company Constitution, three Board members are Directors MyState Bank Limited (MSB), including the Managing Director and CEO. Two Board members, selected from the community based on their business experience, are appointed by MSB and must not be Directors or employees of MSB.

Our current Board Members are:

Robert Gordon. Chairman

In addition to his role as Chairman of the MyState Foundation, Bob is also a Director of MyState Limited, a position which he has held since November 2006. Bob is the current President of the Institute of Foresters of Australia (IFA) and President of Football Federation Tasmania as well as being involved with a number of other charitable causes in Tasmania. He has been a company director for 17 years, including six years as Chairman of antecedent Credit Union, Connect Financial.

Magdalena Lane. Director

Magdalena is an Advancement Manager at the University of Tasmania, where she manages cultural philanthropy and is in her final year of a Masters in Writing at Deakin University. She has managed the development of cultural projects including Tasmania’s first cultural policy for State Government and for local cultural organisation, Detached. Magdalena is a previous board member of the Tasmanian Early Years Foundation, Contemporary Art Tasmania and the Festival of Voices.

Stephen Davy. Director

Stephen was appointed as a non-executive Director of MyState Community Foundation Limited in May 2022 having been appointed as a non-executive Director of MyState Limited and its subsidiaries MyState Bank Limited and TPT Wealth Limited in July 2021. He was formerly Chief Executive Officer and Director of Hydro Tasmania, a position he held from 2013 to 2020. Prior to that role he held senior executive roles at Hydro Tasmania, Eraring Energy, Societe General and Bankers Trust and started his banking career at Macquarie Bank. Stephen is also a Director at Sonic Civil Investments and at Volunteering Tasmania.

Brett Morgan. Director

Brett Morgan is the Managing Director and CEO of MyState Limited. Brett is an experienced banking and fintech executive, having spent more than 6 years with successful Australian fintech, InLoop and more than 15 years in executive and senior roles with ING in Australia and India. Brett says MyState is proud to continue supporting the Tasmanian community through these grants, especially those focussed on youth health and wellbeing.

Audrey Mills. Director

Audrey is a director and principal of Hobart law firm Dobson Mitchell Allport and practices primarily in insurance, workplace relations and dispute resolution. Audrey is a past board member/director of TGIO Ltd, Australian National Railways Commission, Australian Women Lawyers Inc, Anglicare Tasmania Inc, Medical Board of Tasmania, and the Tasmanian Law Society Council. She currently chairs the Law Society's Employment and Equal Opportunity Committee and she is actively involved with a number of not-for-profit organisations.